Yoga Classes now being held on the mountain

YOGA classes have started on the mountain this week. 

We’ve arranged for a yoga instructor for several free yoga classes at our Community Center, 1811 Ridge Road, to help determine interest in regular classes here on the mountain.   Twenty mountain residents show up Friday night for the first practice, we can take only five more students and the class will be full, after that we will keep a waiting list on a first come first served basis.

Friday Feb 23rd, 6:30 to 8:00 pm

Wednesday February 28th, 11:00 am to 12:30 pm

  • Two Free Introductory Yoga classes with instructor, Wes Lorber 
  • There will be some extra mats for those new to Yoga, but people are encouraged to bring their needs items, mats, blocks, bands.
  • Instructor will be there 15 to 20 minutes before each class to answer questions and concerns,  classes will be structured to beginners.

For those who have filled out sign-up sheets from the Friday night session, please mail them to  BRMCA-YOGA, PO Box 374, Haymarket, VA 20168.

Depending on the attendance and interest with these sessions, we hope to offer regular sessions at the community session going forward.  For more information, contact michellecruickshank1@gmail.com

Open Burning Laws…

4 PM Burn Law Goes Into Effect 2018 (click to download)

Kevin J. McGee Chief

COUNTY OF PRINCE WILLIAM

1 County Complex Court (MC470), Prince William, Virginia 22192-9201 (703) 792-6800  Metro 631-1703, Ext. 6800, FAX 792-7691

DEPARTMENT OF FIRE & RESCUE

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release                                                    Contact:  Kim Y. Hylander

February 13, 2018                                                              Communications Specialist

Office: (703) 792-6162

E-mail: khylander@pwcgov.org

4 P.M. Burn Law Goes Into Effect

On Thursday, February 15th, the Commonwealth’s 4:00 p.m. burn law goes into effect. The law remains in effect until Monday, April 30th. Approved burning may take place between 4:00 p.m. and 12:00 midnight only.

The law prohibits open air burning before the hours of 4:00 p.m. daily if your fire is in or within 300 feet of the woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials. During this time, winds can be elevated and the relative humidity is lower; the forest/field floor fuels are extremely dry, having “cured” without tree leaves to shade them. Typically, by 4:00 p.m. the winds are calmer and the relative humidity begins to increase.  This ban applies to all open burning, including campfires.

Remember, illegal burning is a violation of Virginia and County Code, and may result in criminal misdemeanor charges with penalties up to one year in jail and a $2,500.00 fine. For more information on open burning please call the Fire Marshal’s Office at (703) 792- 6360 or visit us online at  http://www.pwcgov.org/government/dept/FR/fmo/Pages/Burning-Regulations.aspx.